Kansas Salesperson’s License Requirements for Out of State Salespeople

The steps required for an out of state Salesperson to apply for a

Kansas Salesperson’s license from the Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC) are:

Complete the 4-Hour Kansas Law Course This course is not required but highly recommended – it contains information needed to pass the State Exam. The 4-Hour Kansas Law Course certificate is valid for 12 months.

Complete the Kansas Practice Course This 30-hour home-study course with an online exam is required by KREC. The Kansas Practice Course certificate is valid for six months and is required to take the State Exam.

Pass the State Portion of the State Exam You will receive a completion report for the exam. (This report is valid for six months from the date you pass.)

Submit to a KBI/FBI Criminal Background Check (Your background check is valid for six months.)

4-Hour Kansas Law Course – Home-Study Format – $50*

*Plus a $5 shipping/handling fee

  • Review course materials at your own pace.
  • Complete the exam and return it to Kansas Association of Realtors® for grading.
  • If your score is not 90%, you will get additional attempts to answer correctly.
  • When you achieve a 90% score, a certificate will be created and emailed to you. The 4-Hour Kansas Law Course certificate is valid for 12 months, which means you must pass the State Exam within 12 months.

Purchase the 4-Hour Kansas Law Course:

Online: Go to KANSASPORTAL.RAMCOAMS.NET and follow instructions to purchase.

By Phone: Call 800-366-0069, ext. 2129.

*NOTE – If you are purchasing a home-study course you will not be registering for a class you will be purchasing a product – these are different instructions and processes.

The cancellation fee is 20% of the registration fee.  No refunds or transfers will be granted once the course has begun or materials have been picked up or shipped.

[Go Back to Top]

30-Hour Kansas Practice Course – Home-Study Format – $135*

*Plus a $10 shipping/handling fee

  • Review course materials at your own pace.
  • Complete the online exam with a score of 90% or greater.
  • Create your certificate at the completion of the exam and print.
  • A copy of the Practice Course certificate must be sent to KREC as part of your application. This certificate is valid for six months.

Purchase the 30-Hour Kansas Practice Course:

Online: Go to KANSASPORTAL.RAMCOAMS.NETand follow instructions to purchase.

By Phone: Call 800-366-0069, ext. 2129.

*NOTE – If you are purchasing a home-study course you will not be registering for a class you will be purchasing a product – these are different instructions and processes.

The cancellation fee is 20% of the registration fee.  No refunds or transfers will be granted once the course has begun or materials have been picked up or shipped.

[Go Back to Top]

Kansas State Licensing Exam – $82, retake exams $75

A Pearson VUE Kansas Real Estate Candidate Handbook is included with the 4-Hour Kansas Law Course and it contains information on scheduling the State Licensing Exam and exam procedures. You can download the guide at www.pearsonvue.com/ks/realestate/.

You must pass the State Exam within 12 months of the date on your education certificate.

  • Make an appointment with Pearson VUE to take the State Exam, the examination fee is $82, retake exams $75.
  • Pass the timed and closed-book exam on the State portion with a passing score of 70%.
  • When you pass the State section of the exam, a certificate will be issued for that portion of the exam.
  • The State Exam certificate is valid for six months. If the license application process is not completed within this six-month time frame you will need to begin the process again.

[Go Back to Top]

KBI/FBI Criminal Background Check – $60 (cashier’s check or money order payable to KREC)

A finger-printing/background kit is included with the 4-Hour Kansas Law

Course, you may request a kit from KREC, or you may pick one up at the Pearson VUE testing center when you take the State Exam. Your background check is valid for six months.

ACCESSIBILITY
Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support