Kansas Broker’s License Requirements for Out of State Brokers

The steps required for an out of state Broker (or Kansas residents who hold a current broker’s license in another state) to apply for a Kansas Broker’s license from the Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC) are:

  • Meet an experience requirement (https://krec.ks.gov/licensing/broker-license-requirements)
  • Complete The 4-Hour Kansas Law Course.  The 4-Hour Kansas Law Course certificate is valid for 6 months and is required to take the State Exam.  You must request a waiver of the National portion of the exam at www.pearsonvue.com/ks/realestate and then schedule the Kansas portion.
  • Pass the Kansas portion of the state exam. You will receive a score report for the exam. (This report is valid for six months from the date you pass.)
  • Request a License History Certification for all real estate licenses ever held in any state other than Kansas.
  • Submit to a KBI/FBI Criminal Background Check (Your background check is valid for six months.)
  • Submit a non-resident form (REL-110) from the KREC website, if applicable.

4-Hour Kansas Law Course – Home-Study Format – $50*

*Plus a $5 shipping/handling fee

  • Review course materials at your own pace.
  • Complete the open-book online exam, upon achieving a passing score of 90%, download and print your certificate.
  • If your score is not 90%, you will get additional attempts to retake the exam.
  • The 4-Hour Kansas Law Course certificate is valid for 6 months, which means you must pass the State Exam within 6 months.

Purchase the 4-Hour Kansas Law Course

Online: Go to KANSASPORTAL.RAMCOAMS.NET and follow instructions to purchase.

By Phone: 800-366-0069, ext. 2129.

*NOTE – If you are purchasing a home-study course you will not be registering for a class you will be purchasing a product – these are different instructions and processes.

The cancellation fee is 20% of the registration fee.  No refunds or transfers will be granted once the course has begun or materials have been picked up or shipped.

[Go Back to Top]

Kansas State Licensing Exam – $82, retake exams $75

A Pearson VUE Kansas Real Estate Candidate Handbook is included with the 4-Hour Kansas Law Course and it contains information on requesting waiver of the general portion and scheduling the State portion of the Licensing Exam and exam procedures. You can download the guide at www.pearsonvue.com/ks/realestate/.  You must pass the State Exam within 6 months of the date on your Kansas Law Course certificate.

  • Make an appointment with Pearson VUE (800-274-4971) to take the State Exam. The examination fee is $82, retake exams are $75.
  • Pass the timed and closed-book exam on the State portion with a passing score of 70%.
  • When you pass the State section of the exam, a score report will be issued for that portion of the exam.
  • The State Exam score is valid for six months. If the license application process is not completed within this six-month time frame you will need to begin the process again.

[Go Back to Top]

KBI/FBI Criminal Background Check – $60  (Email or fax payment information to KREC with the background waiver form)

A finger-printing/background kit is included with the 4-Hour Kansas Law

Course, you may request a fingerprint card from KREC, or you may pick one up at the Pearson VUE testing center when you take the State Exam. Your background check is valid for six months.

Effective January 1, 2020, an additional 30-hour course, the Kansas Real Estate Broker Management Course, is required.

ACCESSIBILITY
Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support