Salesperson Pre-license – Quick Reference

1. Complete the Principles of Real Estate Course.
Online learning, two seminars, and printed materials. $235
2.  Pass the Licensing Exam at a Pearson VUE Test Center near you. $82
3.  Complete a fingerprint Background Check. $60
4.  Complete the Practice Course. $160
5.  Affiliate with a Broker.
6.  Submit License Application. $140

Salesperson Pre-license – Course Information

To obtain a Kansas Salesperson License (in the order we recommend)

1. Principles of Real Estate Course – Online Plus. 30-hour online course with two portions – State & National.
This covers what you need to know to take the Licensing Exam. You will receive supplemental materials in the mail with instructions, but you can start the online course as soon as you purchase it.
There are two seminars included in the course to help you fully understand the material and prepare for the Licensing Exam.


• Required Seminar #1 (Kansas License Law). This is a 2-hour Zoom Webinar covering selected topics in the state portion of the course. It can be taken at any time while you’re going through the online course, but it should be taken at the earliest opportunity. You will receive an invitation by email to participate in this webinar.
Saturday, 8-10 am
ZOOM Seminar

*July 9 *August 20 *September 10 *October 15 *November 19

• Required Seminar #2 (Exam Prep). This is an 8-hour live (in-person) seminar covering both the State and National portions of the course. It is designed to prepare you to take the Licensing Exam. You should take the licensing exam at Pearson Vue NO MORE THAN 5 DAYS AFTER THE EXAM PREP SEMINAR. You must complete the entire online course before attending the Exam Prep Seminar. You will receive an invitation by email to participate in this seminar.
Saturday, 8 am-5 pm
LIVE (in-person) @ Kansas Association of REALTORS®, 3644 SW Burlingame Rd, Topeka:

*July 16 *August 13 *September 17 *October 22 *December 3

2.  Schedule a Licensing Exam with the Pearson VUE Test Center. The exam is two portions – the State portion (specific to Kansas) and the National or general portion (general real estate concepts). We include a Pearson VUE Handbook in the mailed materials.

Law Enforcement Fingerprint Information
Grouped by County

3.  Complete a fingerprint Background Check according to the instructions provided in the mailed materials. Ink and Digital prints are accepted. Fingerprinting can be obtained at the Police Station, Sheriff’s Office, UPS Store, KBI, or other fingerprinting services. Digital Fingerprint Services may be available at the Overland Park, Topeka, and Wichita Pearson Professional testing sites.

4. Practice Course. (Advanced Concepts) 30-hour online course. This goes beyond the basic definitions and concepts you learned in the Principles of Real Estate Course. It is entirely separate from the Principles of Real Estate course and is not related to the Licensing Exam. We recommend you take the Practice Course after you pass the Licensing Exam.

5.  Affiliate with a Broker. The license you receive is a Kansas Real Estate Salesperson License. A real estate broker must supervise you. You need to contact real estate brokers (real estate companies) in your area to request a meeting/interview.

6.  Submit License Application to the Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC). You and your broker will apply according to the instructions provided.

Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC) Requirements for a Kansas real estate license

20% cancellation fee.
No refunds or transfers will be granted once the course has begun or materials have been picked up or shipped.

ACCESSIBILITY
Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support